Conclusion: For Australia, check your phone before you pick an eSIM. Since 28 October 2024, Australian telcos must refuse service to phones that can’t reach Triple Zero (000) over 4G. The law lets them make an exception for foreign visitors staying up to 90 days, but it is optional, and Telstra and Optus say they block non-compliant visitor phones; a data-only travel eSIM doesn’t change which phone you are holding. Then plan for distance: 3G is switched off on all three networks, and Telstra claims 3 million km² of coverage in a 7.69 million km² country. On the listed prices compared below, eSIM4Travel’s Optus plans are the lowest at most sizes, but Nomad is lower at 50 GB and Saily at 30-day unlimited (our coupon codes shift the order at a few sizes; see the price section). Keep your US line on for calls and texts, and ask your carrier whether it supports VoLTE (Voice over LTE, calls carried over 4G) roaming in Australia.
What you will learn on this page:
- Why Australia blocks phones that can’t call 000 over 4G, what the 90-day traveler exception really says, and how to check your phone before you fly.
- The three networks (Telstra, Optus and Vodafone), the end of 3G, and why population coverage is not land coverage.
- Satellite in the outback: what an American iPhone can and can’t do in Australia.
- Australia’s prepaid ID checks for local SIMs, and how a travel eSIM differs in practice.
- Side-by-side prices for eSIM4Travel, Saily and Nomad, which network each one rides, and our coupon codes.
- The ETA app, the U.S. advisory level, the October 2026 end of card surcharges, tap-to-pay transit and emergency numbers.
Most country guides start with the SIM. Australia is different: here the phone itself has to pass a test before any network will serve it. Each claim below links to where it comes from, mostly Australian legislation, regulators and the operators’ own pages. If Australia is one stop on a longer trip, the Cairnroam US traveler hub lists every country we cover.
- Check your phone first: Australia blocks phones that can’t call 000
- Three networks, no 3G, and a lot of empty map
- Local prepaid SIMs need an ID check; a travel eSIM is bought at home
- Australia travel eSIM prices compared (October 2026)
- Which eSIM I would pick for Australia, and our coupon codes
- Keep your US line for calls and texts
- Entering Australia on a US passport: the ETA app
- Cards, transit and emergency numbers
- What older Australia guides get wrong
- Pre-flight checklist for Australia
- FAQ
- Will my US phone work in Australia?
- Does a travel eSIM get around the phone blocking?
- Do I need a passport to buy a SIM in Australia?
- Which travel eSIM is cheapest for Australia?
- Will my eSIM work in the outback?
- Can I text from the outback by satellite with my iPhone?
- Are unlimited eSIM plans for Australia really unlimited?
- Do I need a visa for Australia as a US citizen?
- Do Australian shops still add card surcharges?
- What number do I call in an emergency in Australia?
- References and further reading
Check your phone first: Australia blocks phones that can’t call 000
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links from which Cairnroam may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Rules were checked on 20 October 2026 and Nomad’s prices on 21 October 2026; Saily’s and eSIM4Travel’s prices are eSIMDB listings updated 4 October and 23 September 2026, as the table caption shows. Sources: Australian legislation and regulators, the operators’ own pages, Apple, the providers’ product pages and eSIMDB. — Mara Whitlock
When Australia’s networks shut down 3G, some phones lost the ability to call Triple Zero (000), Australia’s emergency number, because they could only place emergency calls over 3G. The government’s impact analysis says this affected not only 3G-only handsets but “4G handsets that cannot support calls to emergency services except over 3G.” The fix was a rule, not a software patch.
Since 28 October 2024, Part 4 of the Telecommunications (Emergency Call Service) Determination 2019 requires providers to identify mobile phones that are “not configured to be able to access the emergency call service”, on their own network and, if that network is unavailable, on other networks, and then “not supply carriage services to the mobile phone.” The regulator ACMA timed the rules to coincide with the Telstra and Optus 3G shutdowns, and the Department of Infrastructure sums it up: all handsets connected to the network “must be able to call Triple Zero across all remaining 4G and 5G networks.”
The 90-day traveler exception is not a guarantee
There is an exception for visitors, and it is often misread. Section 71 says the blocking sections do not apply if a provider “is aware, or becomes aware, that the mobile phone is being used by an end-user who is a foreign traveller in Australia who intends to remain in Australia for a period of no longer than 90 consecutive days” and has sent the phone a notification that it can’t reach the emergency service. The government’s explanatory statement is blunt about what that means: the provider “can, but is not obligated to” keep serving the traveler, and “the exception does not guarantee that any foreign traveller with an affected mobile phone will not have their service blocked.”
What the operators say they do matters more. Telstra’s 3G closure FAQ says: “If you’re visiting from overseas and your device isn’t compatible with our network, it will be blocked from connecting. This is instantaneous from when you first turn on your phone.” Its Determination page adds that blocking is done at the Type Allocation Code (TAC) level and “doesn’t distinguish between who you are or where you’re from.” Optus, in an October 2025 customer update, says “Roaming customers that come into Australia and are using a blocked device will not be able to connect to the Optus network.” I found no current statement from Vodafone on visiting phones, so I won’t guess. A blocked phone, per Telstra, cannot make any calls or use any data on its network, including Wi-Fi calling, though it can still be used on Wi-Fi and works again once you leave Australia.
How to check your phone before you fly
Which models are affected is device-specific, so I am not printing a list of “safe” or “banned” phones. Optus’s release names some older Samsung models that were once flagships, and that is the only model list I have from an operator. A recent purchase date is no proof either way; the only reliable answer is your exact model in the operators’ checkers. Before you go:
- Run your exact model through Optus’s “Check your device” tool and read Telstra’s Emergency Call Service Determination page.
- If you plan to use your US SIM in Australia, Optus says a roaming phone needs the latest software with VoLTE roaming and international roaming enabled, and your home provider must have launched VoLTE roaming: “Both are required to use the Optus network.” Vodafone Australia says roaming onto its network depends on a roaming agreement with your home provider, and that “Roaming on our 4G network may not be included” in it (Vodafone’s visitor page). Ask your US carrier whether your plan has VoLTE roaming in Australia; US carriers’ terms and prices are not covered here.
- Check your phone’s spec sheet for Band 28 (700 MHz). Telstra says devices without it may have no connection where B28 is the only 4G frequency, usually outside major cities and regional hubs.
- Don’t dial 000 to test. The Department of Infrastructure says plainly: “Do not call Triple Zero to test whether your mobile phone is affected.” Its emergency calls page gives the same warning.
A travel eSIM is a new SIM profile, not a new phone. Whether the Saily, Nomad or eSIM4Travel profiles pass the operators’ emergency-call checks, or support VoLTE, is not stated in my sources; all three are data-only. If your phone fails the checker, a different eSIM will not solve it. A different phone would.
Three networks, no 3G, and a lot of empty map
Australia has three mobile network operators: Telstra, Optus and TPG Telecom, which runs Vodafone. All three have switched 3G off. TPG says it switched off its 3G network on 15 December 2023 (the Department of Infrastructure and the industry body AMTA say January 2024), and Telstra and Optus followed in late 2024: Telstra says 28 October 2024, Optus describes its shutdown as from October 2024, and the Department and AMTA say November 2024. Older guides that promise the outback “drops to 3G” are out of date: outside 4G and 5G coverage, you get nothing.
Coverage figures need careful reading. Telstra says its 4G reaches 99.7% of the Australian population and its 5G over 93%. In a May 2025 article written after Vodafone challenged its claims, Telstra says its mobile network covers “3 million square kilometres and 99.7% of the Australian population”, and adds that “No mobile network operator can test every square metre of Australia’s landmass.” Vodafone says on its network page that it doubled its national coverage in 2025 to around 1,200,000 square kilometres and covers 99% of the population. Optus has no comparable figure here.
Now set those against the country. Geoscience Australia puts Australia’s total area at 7,688,287 km². By that arithmetic, Telstra’s claimed 3 million km² is less than half of the country, and Vodafone’s less than a sixth. The Department of Infrastructure spells out what that means in an emergency: “if there is no mobile coverage on any network, you will not be able to reach Triple Zero from your mobile phone.” Telstra’s coverage maps show predicted outdoor coverage, and Telstra says they do not indicate indoor coverage.
Where there is coverage, it is fast: Ookla’s Speedtest Global Index (September 2026) gives Australia a median mobile download of 123.36 Mbps. The larger number in the page header, 180.40 Mbps, is the mean. Neither figure is a promise for any travel eSIM.
Which network your travel eSIM rides
This is the real choice in Australia, because the networks differ most in the countryside. Nomad’s Australia page lists Optus and Telstra for its fixed-size plans, but its “unlimited” plans list Optus only. eSIM4Travel, per eSIMDB, sells two separate Australia families: one on Optus, and a pricier one on Vodafone and Telstra. Saily’s Australian networks are not stated in my sources. If your trip is mostly Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane, network choice matters less. If you will drive long regional stretches, Telstra’s claimed geographic reach is the largest of the figures above, but that is an operator claim and no plan here comes with a coverage promise for any particular road.
Satellite: what your iPhone can and can’t do here
If you use Messages via satellite in the US, note that Apple’s support page lists it as available in the United States, Canada, Mexico and Japan, so not in Australia. Emergency SOS via satellite is available in Australia on an iPhone 14 or later with iOS 16.4 or later; Apple says visitors can use it unless their iPhone was bought in certain countries (its exclusion list does not include the United States), that it works only where there is no cellular and Wi-Fi coverage, and that in Australia you call or text 000. Telstra’s Satellite Messaging is included on Telstra’s own Consumer and Small Business Upfront plans, and nothing I found extends it to visitors or travel eSIMs. Telstra also says you can’t call Triple Zero from either of its satellite services, nor text it directly. In other words, don’t count on a travel eSIM for satellite access.
Local prepaid SIMs need an ID check; a travel eSIM is bought at home
Australia has a prepaid ID law. Under the Identity Checks for Prepaid Mobile Carriage Services Determination 2017, a provider “must not activate the service unless” it has obtained identifying information from the customer and verified their identity. The rule is written around a prepaid service used with an Australian phone number. In practice, for visitors:
- Vodafone: “if you’re not an Australian resident, an international passport is the only identification we accept. We’ll also need your Australian residential address.” Its Starter Packs are sold in over 20,000 outlets.
- Telstra: its in-store pre-paid checklist accepts an “International passport with a valid Australian visa”; its online activation page asks for a driver licence, passport or Medicare card.
- Optus: its activation page lists an Australian driver licence, Australian passport, Medicare card, or an “International Passport (with an Australian Visa, validated once you have gone through Customs in Australia)”, and its online form offers “Passport (Australian/International)”. So a visitor can use a passport, but only after landing.
In December 2025 the rules were amended to let telcos verify identity through a government-accredited Digital ID service, as ACMA announced, and ACMA plans a wider review of the prepaid rules in 2026. That change is for telcos’ ID checks; I have no source saying it creates a shortcut for tourists.
Does the ID law cover a foreign travel eSIM? No source I found analyzes that, so I am not calling travel eSIMs either exempt or covered. The practical difference is clear, though: a Saily, Nomad or eSIM4Travel profile is bought from a non-Australian provider, is data-only, gives you no Australian number, and is installed before you fly. A local prepaid SIM gives you an Australian number on the local network directly, after the ID step; local plan prices are not compared here. What a local SIM does not do is get around the 000 check: Telstra blocks at the Type Allocation Code level, which identifies the phone model, so a phone that fails the check is refused whichever SIM is in it.
Australia travel eSIM prices compared (October 2026)
Below are the single-country Australia ladders for the three providers I cover, with eSIM4Travel’s two network families shown separately. Only Nomad’s prices were read on the provider’s own page, on 21 October 2026; Saily’s and eSIM4Travel’s come from eSIMDB, with their update dates in the caption. All of these plans are data-only, with no Australian phone number. “Not listed” means the provider has no such single-country plan.
| Plan | eSIM4Travel Optus (per eSIMDB) | eSIM4Travel Vodafone/Telstra (per eSIMDB) | Saily (per eSIMDB) | Nomad (provider page) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 GB / 7 days | $1.26 | $1.68 | $3.99 | $4.00 |
| 3 GB / 30 days | $3.03 | $4.00 | $7.99 | $7.00 |
| 5 GB / 30 days | $4.71 | $6.20 | $10.99 | $10.00 |
| 10 GB / 30 days | $8.87 | $11.67 | $17.99 | $15.00 |
| 20 GB / 30 days | $17.22 | $22.62 | $29.99 | $24.00 |
| 50 GB / 30 days | $47.45 | $62.31 | Not listed | $32.00 |
| “Unlimited” 3 days | $8.04 | $10.57 | Not listed | $11.00 |
| “Unlimited” 5 days | $13.04 | $17.14 | $18.99 | $18.00 |
| “Unlimited” 7 days | $18.05 | $23.71 | Not listed | $25.00 |
| “Unlimited” 10 days | $25.55 | $33.57 | $34.99 | $29.00 |
| “Unlimited” 15 days | $38.06 | $49.99 | $48.99 | Not listed |
| “Unlimited” 20 days | $50.57 | $66.41 | $59.99 | Not listed |
| “Unlimited” 25 days | $63.08 | Not listed | $65.99 | Not listed |
| “Unlimited” 30 days | $75.59 | Not listed | $71.99 | Not listed |
| “Unlimited” daily cap | 3 GB/day, then 1 Mbps | 3 GB/day, then 1 Mbps | 5 GB/day, then reduced speed | 2 GB/day, then 1 Mbps |
| Networks | Optus | Vodafone, Telstra | Not stated | Optus and Telstra (unlimited plans: Optus only) |
Read across, eSIM4Travel’s Optus family has the lowest list price at most tiers, from $1.26 for 1 GB over 7 days to $17.22 for 20 GB over 30 days, and at every unlimited length from 3 to 25 days. It is not the lowest everywhere: at 50 GB, Nomad’s $32.00 beats $47.45, and at 30-day unlimited, Saily’s $71.99 beats $75.59. eSIM4Travel’s Vodafone/Telstra family costs more than its Optus family at every size both families offer.
Between Nomad and Saily, the 1 GB plans are a cent apart ($4.00 against $3.99), a tie in practice. Nomad is cheaper at 3, 5, 10 and 20 GB and at 5- and 10-day unlimited, and only Nomad of the two has a 50 GB plan and 3- and 7-day unlimited plans. Saily is the one with unlimited plans from 15 to 30 days.
None of the “unlimited” plans is truly unlimited. Each is a daily allowance: 2 GB a day on Nomad, 3 GB on eSIM4Travel and 5 GB on Saily, after which speed drops (to 1 Mbps on Nomad and eSIM4Travel; eSIMDB’s listing for Saily shows 1 Mbps on the 10- to 30-day plans and is unclear for the 5-day plan). Compare unlimited plans by the daily cap, not just the price. A daily-capped plan only pays off if you use several gigabytes on several days in a row; otherwise a fixed pack is cheaper.
For an Australia-and-New-Zealand trip, eSIM4Travel also sells combined Australia & New Zealand plans (per eSIMDB, for example 3 GB over 30 days for $5.16 and 10 GB for $15.52). Nomad and Saily list regional Asia-Pacific plans too, but I did not verify their country lists, so check that Australia and New Zealand are both on the list before buying. Our New Zealand eSIM guide covers the second leg.
Which eSIM I would pick for Australia, and our coupon codes
- eSIM4Travel: the lowest list prices at most tiers, on its Optus family. Its Australia page does not show prices in its page text, so the figures come from eSIMDB (updated 23 September 2026). Pick the Vodafone/Telstra family instead if you want Telstra in the mix and accept the higher price. Our code CAIRNROAM takes 10% off, subject to eSIM4Travel’s coupon terms: on the Optus 10 GB plan that works out to about $7.98, and on the Optus 20 GB plan about $15.49. Confirm the price at eSIM4Travel’s checkout.
- Nomad: the only ladder here read on the provider’s own Australia page. Its fixed plans list Optus and Telstra, and it has the lowest 50 GB price in the table. The plan starts automatically when it first connects to a network, or 60 days after purchase. Our code ILEXBDNSXSBA takes $5 off, subject to Nomad’s coupon terms: the 3 GB plan becomes $2.00 and the 50 GB plan $27.00. With the code it is the lowest of the three at 3 GB, 50 GB and 3-day unlimited. The 1 GB plan costs $4.00, under $5, so I am not quoting a coupon price for it.
- Saily: the prices above are eSIMDB’s listing (updated 4 October 2026); confirm them on Saily’s Australia page at checkout. Its unlimited plans have the largest daily allowance of the three, 5 GB a day, and run up to 30 days, where it has the lowest list price in the table. Our code CAIRNR6205 takes $5 off, subject to Saily’s coupon terms: the 3 GB plan becomes $2.99 and the 30-day unlimited plan $66.99.
With the codes applied, the order changes at some sizes, so here are all three side by side. At 3 GB over 30 days: Nomad $2.00, eSIM4Travel Optus about $2.72, Saily $2.99. At 10 GB: eSIM4Travel Optus about $7.98, Nomad $10.00, Saily $12.99. At 50 GB: Nomad $27.00, eSIM4Travel Optus about $42.70, and Saily has no 50 GB plan. At 3-day unlimited: Nomad $6.00 (2 GB a day at high speed), eSIM4Travel Optus about $7.23 (3 GB a day), and Saily has no 3-day plan. At 30-day unlimited: Saily $66.99, eSIM4Travel Optus about $68.03, and Nomad has no 30-day plan. So after coupons Nomad comes out lowest at 3 GB, 50 GB and 3-day unlimited, eSIM4Travel Optus at 1 GB and 5 to 20 GB plus 5- to 25-day unlimited, and Saily at 30-day unlimited. The eSIM4Travel figures are my 10% calculation on eSIMDB’s listed prices, rounded down to the cent; the checkout may round differently.
On sizing, in my view: for maps, messaging, rideshare and the odd photo upload, 3 to 5 GB over 30 days is a reasonable start for a week or two in the cities; video calls, hotspotting a laptop or long navigation days on a road trip are when 10 GB or more, or a daily-capped unlimited plan, makes sense. On a regional drive, though, extra gigabytes do not help where there is no coverage; offline maps and the right network family matter more. If Australia is part of a longer route, our guides to New Zealand, Singapore and Indonesia cover common next stops.
Keep your US line for calls and texts
All three travel eSIMs are data-only, so calls go over apps such as WhatsApp or FaceTime. Keep your US line switched on for calls and SMS codes from your bank, and turn its data roaming off so the travel eSIM carries the data. An iPhone can run both lines at once, as Apple’s Dual SIM guide explains, and Apple’s travel eSIM page notes that with a travel eSIM for data, “FaceTime and iMessage will continue to work on your home line.” Whether your US line actually connects in Australia depends on your carrier’s VoLTE roaming, as covered above, and what it costs depends on your plan; check both before you go.
Entering Australia on a US passport: the ETA app
The United States is on the eligibility list for the Electronic Travel Authority (subclass 601). Home Affairs says there is no visa application charge, but there is an AUD20 service fee to apply through the Australian ETA app. You apply and must be granted the ETA while outside Australia. It allows stays of up to 3 months at a time, with multiple entries, and is valid for 12 months or the life of your passport, whichever is shorter. I did not verify passport-validity requirements beyond that, so check the State Department’s page linked below.
For safety, the U.S. Embassy & Consulates in Australia shows Australia at Travel Advisory Level 1, “Exercise normal precaution in Australia.” Check the State Department’s country page for Australia before you travel, as levels change. For the outback, the practical risk is distance: plan for long stretches with no signal, and tell someone your route.
Cards, transit and emergency numbers
Card surcharges: what changed on 1 October 2026
Older guides warn about card surcharges at Australian checkouts. The Reserve Bank of Australia concluded that surcharging on debit and credit cards should end on 1 October 2026 for eftpos, Mastercard and Visa, so “the sticker price will be the price that consumers end up paying.” CommBank says that from 1 October 2026 businesses can no longer add surcharges to Visa, Mastercard or eftpos card payments, and that American Express, JCB and UnionPay aligned with the reforms from the same date. That is about merchant surcharges; your US card issuer’s foreign transaction fees are separate.
Tap your card on Sydney and Melbourne transit
In Sydney, the Blue Mountains, the Central Coast, the Hunter and the Illawarra, Transport for NSW lets you tap on and off with an American Express, Mastercard or Visa card or a phone wallet, at the same fares and benefits as an Opal card, including a 30% discount on metro, train, bus and light rail fares outside peak times. Transport for NSW notes that a card issued overseas may carry a foreign transaction fee from your issuer, charged once per day rather than per trip. Child and Youth fares need an Opal card, and NSW TrainLink regional services need a booked ticket. In Victoria, tap-and-go already worked on myki-enabled trains and trams, and a 16 July 2026 release from the Premier of Victoria said the bus network was scheduled to be completed on 26 July 2026; look for the Visa or Mastercard logo on the bus reader.
000, 112 and what a data eSIM can’t do
Dial 000 for police, fire or ambulance; the call is free. Per the Department of Infrastructure, you can also dial 112 from a mobile, which goes to the same Triple Zero service, but you cannot reach 000 by SMS, and if there is no mobile coverage on any network you will not be able to reach Triple Zero from your mobile. 106 is the TTY relay number. A data-only eSIM has no phone number, which is one more reason your phone must pass the 000 check and why your US line should stay on.
What older Australia guides get wrong
- “In the outback you drop to 3G.” 3G is off on all three networks. Outside 4G/5G coverage there is no signal.
- “Tourists are exempt from the 000 phone blocking.” The 90-day exception is optional for telcos and not a guarantee, and Telstra and Optus say they block non-compliant visitor phones.
- “Telstra covers 99.7% of Australia.” That is 99.7% of the population. Telstra’s own land claim is 3 million km² of 7.69 million.
- “Unlimited means unlimited.” Every unlimited plan here has a daily cap of 2, 3 or 5 GB.
- “eSIM4Travel is always the cheapest.” On the listed prices, Nomad is cheaper at 50 GB and Saily at 30-day unlimited, and after coupons Nomad is cheaper at 3 GB, 50 GB and 3-day unlimited (with a 2 GB daily cap against eSIM4Travel’s 3 GB).
- “Satellite texting works on your iPhone in the outback.” Apple’s Messages via satellite isn’t available in Australia; Emergency SOS via satellite is.
- “Expect card surcharges.” CommBank says businesses can no longer add surcharges to eftpos, Mastercard and Visa payments from 1 October 2026, the date the Reserve Bank concluded surcharging should end.
Pre-flight checklist for Australia
- Check your phone with Optus’s device checker and Telstra’s guidance, confirm Band 28 support, and update its software. Don’t test by calling 000.
- Confirm eSIM support and unlock status: on iPhone, an XS, XS Max, XR or later. In Settings > General > About, “No SIM restrictions” next to Carrier Lock means it is unlocked; per Apple’s unlock guide, only your carrier can unlock it.
- Ask your US carrier whether your plan supports VoLTE roaming in Australia, and what it costs.
- Get your ETA in the Australian ETA app before you fly.
- Buy and install the travel eSIM at home on Wi-Fi, choosing the network family that fits your route; add New Zealand if it is on the itinerary.
- On landing, set the travel eSIM as your data line and turn data roaming on for that line; keep the US line on for calls and SMS with its data roaming off.
- No signal? Check the travel eSIM is selected for mobile data with data roaming on and toggle airplane mode once. If that fails, turn off automatic network selection and pick the network your plan uses: Optus or Telstra on Nomad’s fixed plans, Optus on its unlimited plans, and the family you bought on eSIM4Travel (Saily’s networks are not stated in my sources). Still nothing? Use airport Wi-Fi to contact the provider’s support.
- Before a regional drive, download offline maps and tell someone your route.
FAQ
Will my US phone work in Australia?
Only if it can reach Triple Zero (000) over Australia’s 4G networks. Since 28 October 2024 providers must refuse service to phones that can’t; the 90-day traveler exception is optional and not a guarantee, and Telstra and Optus say they block non-compliant visitor phones. Check your model with Optus’s device checker before you fly.
Does a travel eSIM get around the phone blocking?
No. Blocking is based on the phone model, not the SIM. Telstra says it doesn’t distinguish who you are or where you’re from. A travel eSIM doesn’t change the phone you are holding, and neither does a local prepaid SIM.
Do I need a passport to buy a SIM in Australia?
For a local prepaid SIM, yes: Australian law requires an ID check before activation. Vodafone accepts only an international passport from non-residents and also asks for an Australian residential address; Telstra in-store accepts an international passport with a valid Australian visa; Optus lists an international passport with an Australian visa validated at Customs on arrival. A local SIM does not help a phone that fails the 000 check. No source I found says whether the ID law applies to foreign travel eSIMs, which are bought abroad and give no Australian number.
Which travel eSIM is cheapest for Australia?
On list prices, eSIM4Travel’s Optus family is the lowest at most tiers (per eSIMDB, updated 23 September 2026), but Nomad is lower at 50 GB ($32.00) and Saily at 30-day unlimited ($71.99). With our codes, Nomad is lowest at 3 GB ($2.00, against about $2.72 for eSIM4Travel Optus and $2.99 for Saily), at 50 GB ($27.00 against about $42.70) and at 3-day unlimited ($6.00 with a 2 GB daily cap, against about $7.23 with 3 GB); eSIM4Travel Optus stays lowest at 1 GB, at 5 to 20 GB and at 5- to 25-day unlimited, and Saily at 30-day unlimited ($66.99).
Will my eSIM work in the outback?
Not everywhere. Telstra claims 3 million km² of coverage and Vodafone about 1.2 million in a country of 7.69 million km², and 3G is gone. Expect long stretches with no signal away from towns and main roads, whichever plan you buy; check the coverage map for your route.
Can I text from the outback by satellite with my iPhone?
Not with Messages via satellite, which Apple offers only in the US, Canada, Mexico and Japan. Emergency SOS via satellite works in Australia on iPhone 14 or later with iOS 16.4 or later, outdoors with a clear view of the sky, when there is no cellular or Wi-Fi coverage.
Are unlimited eSIM plans for Australia really unlimited?
No. They are daily allowances: Nomad 2 GB a day, eSIM4Travel 3 GB and Saily 5 GB, after which speed is reduced.
Do I need a visa for Australia as a US citizen?
Most US tourists use the Electronic Travel Authority (subclass 601), applied for in the Australian ETA app with an AUD20 service fee; it allows up to 3 months per visit. A Visitor visa (subclass 600) is also possible.
Do Australian shops still add card surcharges?
Not on eftpos, Mastercard or Visa: CommBank says businesses can no longer add those surcharges from 1 October 2026, the date the Reserve Bank concluded surcharging should end. Your own bank’s foreign transaction fee may still apply.
What number do I call in an emergency in Australia?
Dial 000 for police, fire or ambulance; 112 from a mobile reaches the same service. You can’t contact 000 by SMS.
References and further reading
- Federal Register of Legislation — Telecommunications (Emergency Call Service) Determination 2019: Part 4 blocking duty, s 71 traveler exception.
- Explanatory statement — Emergency Call Service Amendment Determination 2024: commencement on 28 October 2024; the exception is not a guarantee.
- ACMA — New telco rules to support continued access to Triple Zero (25 October 2024): timing with the 3G shutdowns.
- Office of Impact Analysis — Requirements to identify and manage mobile phones unable to access 000: which handsets were affected.
- Department of Infrastructure — 3G network switch off: switch-off dates, blocking duty, do not test by calling 000.
- Department of Infrastructure — Emergency calls: affected 4G devices blocked on Australian networks.
- Department of Infrastructure — Triple Zero: 000, 112, no SMS, 106, no coverage means no 000 from a mobile.
- Telstra — Emergency Call Service Determination: TAC-level blocking.
- Telstra — 3G closure: visiting devices, Band 28, population coverage.
- Telstra Exchange — Telstra coverage maps: the facts about how it’s measured: 3 million km² claim.
- Telstra — Our coverage: predicted outdoor coverage maps.
- Telstra — Satellite-to-mobile: Satellite Messaging on Telstra Upfront plans.
- Optus — Customer update: Triple Zero and Samsung devices (October 2025): roaming customers with blocked devices.
- Optus — Check your device: device checker and VoLTE roaming requirement.
- Optus — Important changes to 3G: 3G shutdown.
- TPG — 3G network closure FAQ: 3G off on 15 December 2023.
- AMTA — 3G closure: industry summary of 3G dates.
- Vodafone Australia — Our network: about 1,200,000 km² and 99% of the population.
- Vodafone Australia — Connecting to Vodafone on your visit to Australia: visitors and inbound roaming.
- Vodafone Australia — Activating your prepaid SIM or eSIM: passport and Australian address for non-residents.
- Telstra — Activating your pre-paid in-store (PDF): international passport with a valid Australian visa.
- Telstra — Activate: online ID types.
- Optus — Activate prepaid: accepted ID, including an international passport with a validated Australian visa.
- Federal Register of Legislation — Identity Checks for Prepaid Mobile Carriage Services Determination 2017: the prepaid ID rule.
- ACMA — ACMA strengthens consumer protections with Digital ID verification (23 December 2025): Digital ID and the 2026 review.
- Geoscience Australia — Area of Australia: 7,688,287 km².
- Ookla — Speedtest Global Index, Australia (September 2026): median mobile download.
- Apple — Use Emergency SOS via satellite: availability in Australia.
- Apple — About Messages via satellite: US, Canada, Mexico and Japan only.
- Apple — Using Dual SIM with an eSIM: eSIM-capable iPhone models.
- Apple — How to unlock your iPhone for use with a different carrier: checking carrier lock.
- Apple — Use eSIM while traveling internationally: keeping your home line for iMessage and FaceTime.
- Department of Home Affairs — Electronic Travel Authority (subclass 601): eligibility, AUD20 app fee, stay length.
- Department of Home Affairs — Visitor visa (subclass 600): the alternative visitor visa.
- U.S. Embassy & Consulates in Australia: Travel Advisory Level 1.
- U.S. Department of State — Australia country information: current advisory and entry requirements.
- Reserve Bank of Australia — Review of Merchant Card Payment Costs and Surcharging: At a Glance: concluded surcharging should end 1 October 2026.
- CommBank — Card surcharging is ending (August 2026): American Express, JCB and UnionPay alignment.
- Transport for NSW — Contactless payments: tap on and off with bank cards.
- Transport for NSW — Best ways for visitors to pay: overseas card fee once per day.
- Premier of Victoria — Tap and go rolling out on buses (16 July 2026): Victoria tap-and-go.
- Nomad — Australia eSIM: plans, networks and activation window.
- eSIMDB — Nomad Australia: cross-check of Nomad’s ladder.
- eSIMDB — Saily Australia: plan ladder, updated 4 October 2026.
- eSIMDB — eSIM4Travel Australia: plan ladders and networks, updated 23 September 2026.
- eSIM4Travel — Australia eSIM: provider page (no price source).
- Saily — Australia eSIM: provider page (no price source).
Questions or a correction? Reach us through our contact form.
Last updated: 2026-10-21

